Care standards commission board members announced

Health minister John Hutton has named the 13 board members of
the National Care Standards Commission (NCSC), which was officially
launched on Monday.

The commission does not become fully operational until next year
when it will take over the inspection and regulation of

Among the board members are Valerie Howarth,
who is to retire as chief executive of charity Childline in July,
and Michael Hake, who is the director of social
services for Solihull Council and the national lead on care
regulation for the Association of Directors of Social Services.

Deryk Mead, chief executive of children’s
charity NCH; Peter Westland, chairperson of
charity Action on Elder Abuse; and Tom Burgner,
author of the ‘Burgner report’ which led to the NCSC and the Care
Standards Act, are among the appointees.

Other board members are:

Lucianne Sawyer, who is founder and current
president of the UK Home Care Association, and has been a member of
the Social Services Inspectorate productivity panel.

Su Sayer, who is co-founder and chief executive
of learning difficulty and mental health charity United

Glynn Vernon, who is former vice-chairperson of
physical disability charity SCOPE and member of the executive

Shaukat Moledina, who is chairperson of Amocura
(Holdings) Ltd, which owns nursing and residential homes.

Roslyn Emblin, who plans to retire this year
from her post as director of nursing, deputy chief executive and
executive director for Moorfields Eye Hospital.

Bryan Heiser, who is a campaigner for
development of older people’s rights and services, specialising in
access to public transport.

Jim Mansell, who is a professor and current
chairperson of Applied Psychology of Learning Disability at the
University of Kent.

Simon Kirk, a former director of British Gas,
who is founder and chairperson of the Energy Saving Trust.




More from Community Care

Comments are closed.