Gibb made CBE in New Years Honours

Former president of the Association of Directors of Social Services, Moira Gibb, was awarded a CBE for her work for social services in the New Year Honours List.

Gibb is director of housing and social services for the London borough of Kensington and Chelsea. Other honours included:


Robert Eagle, head of the National Asylum Support Service, immigration and nationality directorate at the Home Office; Paul Ennals, chief executive of the National Children’s Bureau, for services to education; George Gibson, for charitable services through the Simon Gibson Charitable Trust; Robert Shields, chief executive NW Regional Development Agency, for services to regeneration; Michael Storey, leader of Liverpool council, for services to regeneration; Stephen Thornton, lately chief executive, NHS Confederation, for services to the NHS; Howard Williamson, youth worker and researcher, for services to young people.


Reba Bhaduri, for services to social work; Douglas Campbell, for services to mobility for disabled people; John Dinsdale, chief executive, Hartlepool council, for services to regeneration; Christine Hammill, lately co-ordinator, Tyneside Cyrenians, for services to homeless people; William Lockhart, for services to the voluntary sector; Patrick McHugh; for services to the St. Vincent de Paul Society; Norman Tutt, director of social services and housing for Ealing council, for services to child care and Jayne Zito, for services to the Zito Trust.


Phyllida Bowser, director Wishart Centre, Dundee, for services to homeless people; Paul Bush, for services to disabled people’s access; Margaret Carrick, senior home care assistant, N. Yorkshire county council, for services to homecare; Steven Carter, manager, Rothwell Training Centre, Leeds, for services to adults with learning difficulty; Sefton Coslett, for services to the community, especially disabled people and local government in South Wales; Patricia Hobbs, assistant director (management and hostels) Leicester council, for services to single homelessness and to rough sleepers; Martha Laing, for services to Save the Children Fund in Edinburgh; Elizabeth Nicholson, director Shelter Scotland, for services to homeless people; Elizabeth Thomas, member of the Scottish Council of Voluntary Organisations, for services to young unemployed people; Linda Thomas, chief executive Arch (N. Staffs) and team leader Potteries Young Homelessness Project; for services to homeless people in Stoke on Trent.

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.