Four directors rewarded in New Year’s Honours list

Four social services directors are among the people given awards
in the New Year’s Honours list.

OBEs go to Nigel Druce, Cornwall director of social services,
Tony Harrop of Leicestershire, and Nick Johnson, deputy chief
executive and director in Bexley. Geoff Alltimes, Hammersmith and
Fulham director, and former secretary of the Association of
Directors of Social Services, is given a CBE.

John Rowlands, an inspector with the Social Services
Inspectorate, and Carolyn Hayman, chief executive of the Foyer
Federation, are given OBEs.

Anne Partington, senior social worker at Dundee council, is made
an MBE.

Gillian Stewart, who is head of the children and young people’s
group at the Scottish executive, has been made a Companion of the
Order of the Bath.

Nigel Crisp, chief executive of the NHS and the Department of
Health, is made a Knight Commander of the Order of the Bath.

Other OBEs:

Judith Barker, adviser, London Drug Prevention Advisory

Thomas Durie, for services to community, especially to Royal
Hospital for Children in Bristol

James Dyer, medical commissioner and director Mental Welfare
Commission for Scotland

Hansa Patel-Kanwal, services to young people from black and
ethnic minority backgrounds

Sonia Jackson, professor, social sciences, University of Wales,
for services to young people in care

Doreen and Neville Lawrence, parents of Stephen Lawrence

Mark Sharman, director Help and Care, services to older people
in Bournemouth area

Tom Wylie, chief executive of the National Youth Agency


Jill Aylott, director Disability Initiative, for services to
disabled people in Camberley, Surrey

Susan Bernerd, services to children’s charities

Edwin Buddle, manager, Croslink, services to disabled people

Martin Dodgson, services to deaf and blind people in Leeds

Raphael Gasson, president and chairperson Disabled Motorists

Rupert Gillard, services to blind and partially sighted people
in Devon

David Graham, chairperson Age Concern in Sunderland

Mel Hatto, organiser, Stapleford Volunteer Bureau, for services
to the delivery of health and social care services

Tessa Harding, head of policy for Help The Aged

Sister Ingrid Hitchens, services to children in Bolton

Jean Horner, services to foster care in Leicester

Anne Kennedy, services to homeless people in Glasgow

Margaret McAlpine, services to Northern Ireland Cancer Fund for

Gillian Norris, services to young people in Tunbridge Wells,

Evelyn Piska, chairperson Compass, for services to families and
carers of the mentally ill

Melba Pitt, services to disabled young people in
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire

Ronald and Sheila Purbrick, services to foster care in

Susan Ryrie, manager, Brook Advisory Service, Liverpool

Ian Vaughan for voluntary service to homeless people in

Pat Wade, play specialist for services to Burned
Children’s Club in Essex

William Walsh, for services to the Antrim and Randalstown
Multiple Sclerosis Group

Gloria Watts, services to people with cerebral palsy and their
carers in Swansea

Dorothy Willard, services to Save the Children in Sussex

Maurice Williamson, services to young people in Bangor, Northern

Trevor Wood, services to Sport for the Disabled in Greater

Colin Young, services to young people in Cranleigh, Surrey


Thomas Davies, chairperson of Wales Youth Agency, for services
to young people

Clive Fairweather, OBE, lately inspector of prisons in

Victoria Stark, chief executive Look Ahead Housing and Care for
services to homeless people in London

Lady Tumim OBE for Foyer Federation chairperson for services to
voluntary sector

For a full list of the New Year’s Honours click

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.