The government refuses support to 150 EU asylum seekers

More than 150 asylum seekers from the 10 EU accession countries
have had their applications for transitional support turned down by
the government, writes Amy Taylor.

Ministers had previously said that asylum seekers from the
accession countries would be denied support when their countries
joined the EU on 1 May but announced a reprieve at the last

The Home Office agreed to carry on supporting asylum seekers
while it conducted a review of their cases and considered whether
their human rights would be breached by the plans. If so, then it
will provide transitional support giving the asylum seekers more
time to find a way of supporting themselves, most likely through

It has told local councils, who support some of the asylum
seekers, to do the same.

In response to a parliamentary question the immigration minister
Des Brown said that since 5 April 180 people had made
representations to the government and that around 10 per cent of
them had been granted transitional support. He added that each was
dealt with on a case by case basis.

But prior to the reprieve campaigners were concerned that more
than 2,500 asylum seekers and their families would be made homeless
overnight. The remainder are likely to be in the process of
applying for transitional support, or making other arrangements,
such as finding work or leaving the UK.

A High Court challenge to the government’s decision to
stop the support was due to take place last week but has now been
adjourned until after 5 July. However, the case may be postponed
because of the reprieve.

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.