Common standards for children’s services staff

New common induction standards for the children’s workforce have gone out to consultation this month.

The standards, published by the Children’s Workforce Development Council, aim to bring all new starters in children’s services up to a common standard within three months.

Staff with previous experience and qualifications will have to show knowledge of the standards to be exempted from any of the modules.

The standards are made up of seven units:

• Essential principals and values working with children
• Understanding the practitioner role
• Health and safety
• Effective communication
• Understanding child development
• Safeguarding children
• Personal development 

The council want the standards to link together the whole of the children’s workforce.

There are several roadshows in England to publicise the standards and the consultation ends 28 February.

• More at

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.