Scottish NVQs approved

New awards in the Scottish National Vocational Qualification
have been approved by the Care Sector Consortium.

There are now awards in community work and special needs housing
at levels II, III and IV, while new specialisms at level III
include supporting community care; group and foster care;
supporting families, and providing outreach services.

All new awards still require accreditation by the National
Council for Vocational Qualifications, but this generally follows
approval by the employer-based consortium.

Social work training council CCETSW is the awarding body.

Richard Banks, projects manager vocational qualifications for
CCETSW, said: ‘We expect to see level IV available in early

To boost registration for this level, CCETSW is running a
communication strategy to explain the relationship between the
S/NVQs and the Diploma in Social Work.

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.