Councils win award for adoption services

Three local authorities have been awarded beacon status for the
quality of their adoption services, writes Clare

Essex, Gateshead and Medway councils gained the awards for
adoption, while Nottinghamshire, Telford and Wrekin and Lewisham
councils won recognition for their services in better access and

Excellence and innovation were highlighted in Babergh,
Stevenage, Portsmouth, Middlesbrough, Brent and Wigan councils for
their neighbourhood renewal initiatives.

Promoting racial equality was praised in Leicester, Lewisham and
Manchester councils.

Local government minister Nick Raynsford said: “Beacon status is
much more than a trophy. Becoming a Beacon is just the start
– the new beacon councils will now help other councils learn
from their experience.

“By sharing their best practice with others, beacon councils can
help raise standards of public services across the country,” he

The other councils, 46 in total were awarded beacon status, were
praised for crime reduction in rural areas, community legal
services, fostering business growth, improving urban green spaces,
libraries as a community resource, tackling fuel poverty and
transition in education.

for a full list of the councils awarded beacon status.





More from Community Care

Comments are closed.