Behan given CBE in New Year’s Honours List

Two leading figures in the social care field were recognised in
the New Year’s Honours List for their work,
writes David Callaghan.

David Behan, who was recently president of the
Association of Directors of Social Services and is now chief
inspector for the Commission for Social Care Inspection, was made
CBE. Peter Gilroy, who is director of social
services in Kent, was awarded an OBE. He has been a vocal
campaigner for the rights of unaccompanied child asylum

Former assistant director of social services in West Sussex,
Margaret Bamford, was given an OBE for her
charitable work helping children and babies in orphanages in

Rabbi Julia Neuberger, former chief executive
of the King’s Fund, was given a damehood.

Other recipients of awards for their work in social

Dames Commander of the Order of the British

Lady Pauline Harris of Harris Charitable
Elisabeth Hoodless, chief executive of Community
Service Volunteers
Gail Ronson, Jewish Care


Joan Ruddock, chairperson of Belfast City
Hospital Health and Social Services Trust


John Bateman, chief executive of UK Youth and
vice-chairperson of National Council for Voluntary Youth
Sarah Child, chairperson of Addaction for services
to drug and alcohol treatment
Philip Dinham, for services to youth and community
Raymond Fletcher, personnel director Remploy for
services to disabled people
Dr Ian Keitch, consultant forensic
Toni Letts, chief executive of Croydon YMCA
Housing Association
Irene Murdoch, head of welfare services, Inland
Superintendant Heather Murray, for services to
domestic violence issues in UK and abroad
Richard Palmer, vice-president National Council of
Stephen Powell, chief executive of Sign, for
services to deaf people
Jennifer Thompson, head of social work South
Ayrshire Council
Professor Jonquil Williams, professor of social
policy, University of Leeds


Roy Barnett, for services to UNICEF
Una Barry, deputy chief executive Depaul Trust for
services to disadvantaged people in London
Jill Bartrop, for services to deaf people and NHS
in Sheffield
Dr Bertram Beecham, for services to the Leonard
Cheshire Foundation
Michael Branson, for services to people with
learning difficulties in West Sussex
John and Marjorie Bromwich, foster carers in west
Alexander Crombie, for services to visually
impaired people in Leicestershire and Rutland
Jeanne Diamond, for services to childminding in
Redbridge, Essex
Dr Bruce Fogle, co-founder Hearing Dogs for Deaf
Reginald Gilbert, for services to young people
through the Reg Gilbert International Youth Friendship Trust,
Frome, Somerset
John Houston, chief executive officer Blind Centre
for Northern Ireland
Henry Johnston, for services to carers in
Hugh Jones, honorary chairperson National Deaf
Children’s Society
Jenni Manners, manager Swindon Women’s
Meinwen Marsh, chief executive Cornwall Mobility
Centre for services to disabled people
Graham Morgan, advocacy project manager Highland
Community Forum for services to mental health in Highlands
Evelyn Newell, senior care assistant Cainshill
Fold, for services to older people in Northern Ireland
Mary Oliver, special needs officer Conwy Education
Margaret Pinson, senior child protection nurse in
Joan Rees, mental health act manager, Cardiff and
Vale NHS Trust
Cynthia Rickitt, chairperson South of Tyne and
Wearside Mental Health NHS Trust
John Robinson, for services to mental health in
Bromley and east Kent
Terence Snowden, for services to disabled people
in Manchester
Mabel Swift, for services to residential care in
East Riding of Yorkshire
Margaret Tait, for services to residential care in
south west Wales
Michael Wood, for services to disabled
Eric Wroe, for services to older people in

Full list of New Year’s honours

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.