Social and health care professionals honoured by the Queen

One in five of those recognised on this year’s birthday
honours list work or volunteer in the world of health, social care
or education – and half were nominated by the public,
writes Lauren Revans.

The list includes a knighthood for Professor Alan Craft, president
of the Royal College of Paediatrics, and a CBE for Ted Cantle,
author of the report into the race riots in the north of England in
the summer of 2001.

Chair of the Commission for Social Care Inspection Denise Platt
was made a Dame, alongside the former chair of the now defunct
Community Fund, Lady Diana Brittan, and the chief executive of the
NHS Confederation, Gill Morgan.

Kirklees social services director Philip Cotterill and former
Youth Justice Board chief executive Mark Perfect were both awarded
OBEs for services to social services and youth justice

More controversially, Jonathan Tross, the chief executive of the
Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Service who led the
organisation during a period of unprecedented criticism,
culminating in last year’s damning report by the Department
of Constitutional Affairs select committee, was made a Companion of
the Order of the Bath.

One grass roots guardian said the decision to reward Tross was
“insensitive” and that many guardians would view the
honour cynically “as a sort of golden handshake”.

“Cafcass has hardly been a resounding success since he
took over. He steadied the ship and for that he gets grudging
respect. But Cafcass is more bureaucratic than before he
joined,” the guardian added.


Prof Alan Craft, president, Royal College of Paediatrics
David Henshaw, chief exec, Liverpool Council

Companions of the Order of the Bath

Jonathan Tross, chief executive, Cafcass
Philip Wheatley, director general, HM Prison Service

Dame Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Lady Diana Brittan, former chair, Community Fund
Gillian Morgan, chief executive, NHS Confederation
Denise Platt, chief executive, Commission for Social Care

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

Colin Barrow, chair, IdEA
Ian Bruce, former director general, Royal National Institute of the
Edward Cantle, chair independent review team on community
Alan Peddar – chair of Remploy
Colin Sinclair, former chief executive, Sunderland Council
John Sweeting – chief exec of Treloar Trust, for services to
special education needs

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

Susan Buckley, director of research and training, The Down’s
Syndrome Educational Trust
Kathleen Burgess, director of social work, for services to the
Soldiers’, Sailors’ and Airmen’s Families
Lavinia Carey, vice-chair National Children’s Home
Susanna Cheal, chief exec, The Who Cares? Trust
Gita Conn, the Pro-Contact Greater Manchester Supervised
Children’s Contact and Assessment Centre
Philip Cotterill, director, Kirklees social services
Anne Darby, substance misuse specialist health visitor, NE
John Garner, chief exec, KidsOut Charity
John Hassell, headteacher, Glyne Gap Special School,
Hugh Hastie, chief exec, Derbyshire Connexions Partnership
Angus Kennedy, chief exec, Castle Vale Housing Action Trust
Damian Killeen, director, Scottish Human Services Trust
Robert Lane, chief executive, Corby Regeneration Company
Margaret Marsden, director, Wiltshire and Swindon Community
Elizabeth Millen, chair, Ulidia Housing Association Ltd
Trevor Muir, chief executive, Midlothian Council
Michael O’Neill, director of education, North Lanarkshire
Mark Perfect, former chief exec of Youth Justice Board for England
and Wales
Darra Singh, former chief executive, Luton Council
Matt Smith, Scottish secretary, Unison
Judith Stevenson, headteacher, Robert Owen Early Years Centre,
Alison Thain, chief exec, Tees Valley Housing Group
George Thorley, former chief executive, South Ayrshire
Linda Ward, director, Norah Fry Research Centre, University of
Patrick Wintour, director, Employability Forum

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Ian Adams, Chair, Manor of Kennington Residents
Eleanor Bujalska, field work manager, Kennet Childcare Team,
John Dossett-Davies, Member, National Council of the British
Association of Social Work
Eileen, Mrs Johnston, Home Help, Homefirst Health and Social
Services Trust.
Nora Rimmer, Secretary and Treasurer, Runcorn Residents
Francis Vickery, Assistant Chief Executive, East Thames Housing
Dr Anba Farhan-ali, director, Refugees in Jobs
Sam Field, director, Integrated Service Programme
Joan Cordell, for services to the victims of crime and to the
Dr Zoe Mary Dunhill, director, School of Community Paediatrics,
Maisie Edie, Community Midwifery Manager, St George’s Healthcare
NHS Trust
Alice Edwards, Lately District Nursing Sister, North Powys
Brian Galbraith, for services to the community especially health in
Arthur Goddard for services to health and education and to the
community in Exeter
Afzal Iqbal, Community Development Officer, Greater Manchester
David Jones, for services to Young People and to the community in
the West Midlands
Hilary Lawson, Community Learning Manager, Workers’ Educational
Association, north Highlands
Dr Robert William Lyle, for services to young people and to the
community in Prestbury
Raja Miah, lately member, Community Cohesion Panel, Greater
Hector Medora, head of disability and HIV services at the London
Borough of Kensington & Chelsea
Khandaker Musabbir, Chair, Bangladesh Association and Community
Kailash Parekh, for services to Community Relations and Race
Equality in Preston
Conrad Phoenix, for services to health and education and to the
community in Letchworth
Charles Reaney, for services to young people and to the community
in Oldbury
Archibald Robb, lately commissioner, Mental Welfare Commission for
Christine Searle chair, Poplar Housing and Regeneration Community
Association, Tower Hamlets
Peggy Spaight, deputy chair, Disability Living Allowance Board and
Therapy Services Manager
Judith Usiskin, for services to Jewish Women’s Aid and to the
Jewish community
Brian Watson, Project Manager, Community Service Volunteers

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.