Blunkett returns to the Cabinet

David Blunkett has returned to the cabinet as secretary of state
for the Department of Work and Pensions, writes Clare

New Asset  
Blunkett returns

Many positions within the cabinet remain the same although John
Reid is leaving the Department of Health to become defence
secretary and Patricia Hewitt moves to the DH from the Department
for Trade and Industry.

Des Browne, John Hutton and David Miliband enter the cabinet for
the first time.

For a full list:-

Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister
for the Civil Service

The Rt Hon Tony Blair MP

Deputy Prime Minister and First Secretary of

The Rt Hon John Prescott MP

Chancellor of the Exchequer

The Rt Hon Gordon Brown MP

Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth

The Rt Hon Jack Straw MP

Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

The Rt Hon David Blunkett MP

Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural

The Rt Hon Margaret Beckett MP

Secretary of State for Transport, and Secretary of State
for Scotland

The Rt Hon Alistair Darling MP

Secretary of State for Defence

New Asset  
John Reid

The Rt Hon Dr John Reid MP

Lord Privy Seal and Leader of the House of

The Rt Hon Geoff Hoon MP

Secretary of State for Health

The Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt MP

Secretary of State for Culture, Media and

The Rt Hon Tessa Jowell MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief

The Rt Hon Hilary Armstrong MP

Secretary of State for the Home Office

The Rt Hon Charles Clarke MP

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, and Secretary
of State for Wales

The Rt Hon Peter Hain MP

Minister without Portfolio

The Rt Hon Ian McCartney MP

Leader of the House of Lords and Lord President of the

The Rt Hon Baroness Amos of Brondesbury

Secretary of State for Constitutional Affairs and Lord

The Rt Hon Lord Falconer of Thoroton QC

Secretary of State for International

The Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP

Secretary of State for Productivity, Energy and

New Asset  
Alan Johnson

The Rt Hon Alan Johnson MP

Secretary of State for Education and Skills

The Rt Hon Ruth Kelly MP

Minister of Communities and Local

The Rt Hon David Miliband MP

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster (Minister for the
Cabinet Office)

The Rt Hon John Hutton MP

Chief Secretary to the Treasury

The Rt Hon Des Browne MP

Also attending CabinetLords Chief Whip and Captain of
the Gentlemen at Arms

The Rt Hon Lord Grocott of Telford

Attorney General

The Rt Hon Lord Goldsmith of Allerton QC

Minister of State for Europe in the Foreign and
Commonwealth Office

Douglas Alexander MP


More from Community Care

Comments are closed.