Standards review to be in three stages

    The long-awaited review of the national minimum standards for
    adult services will take place in three stages, starting with a
    consultation this month on the frequency of inspection.

    The first phase, to allow the Commission for Social Care
    Inspection to focus inspection on poor-performing services, is
    expected to be implemented in April 2006.

    This will be followed by reforms to the content of the
    standards, which will be consulted on next year, to come into force
    in April 2007.

    The final phase will look at the structure of the standards,
    such as the division between regulations for older people and
    younger adults, as part of a wider review of health and social care

    The timetable was included in a report to the commission this

    The CSCI is still awaiting a decision from the Department for
    Education and Skills on the future of the national minimum
    standards for children’s services.


    More from Community Care

    Comments are closed.