This article include information about health services, and how social care and the NHS works together, and the challenges that multi-agency working can present. Also covered  is the latest health news, including mental health news.

Latest health jobs on Community Care


England has 10 strategic health authorities. Within each strategic health authority, the NHS is split into various types of trust that run NHS services.

Types of trust in England include:

  • Primary care trusts that control 80 per cent of the NHS budget.
  • Care trusts are set up when the NHS and local authorities agree to work closely together, usually where it is felt that a closer relationship between health and social care is needed or would benefit local care services. At the moment there are only a small number of care trusts, though more will be set up in the future.
  • Mental health trusts provide health and social care services for people with mental health problems.

NHS Wales

NHS Scotland

Health and social care in Northern Ireland

Latest articles from Community Care

All articles on health and social care

Expert Guides

Information on elderly people

Information on mental health

Information on HIV and Aids

Information on learning disabilities


More from Community Care

Comments are closed.