Child protection expert to chair social work awards charity

Professor Ray Jones to support Social Worker of the Year Awards

Ray Jones
Professor Ray Jones

Child protection expert Ray Jones has become chair of the charity behind the Social Worker of the Year Awards.

Professor Jones, who is professor of social work at faculty of health, social care and education shared by Kingston University and St George’s University of London, will become chair of Social Work Awards Ltd.

He is also the independent chair of children’s improvement boards in three areas in England. He was the first appointed chief executive of the Social Care Institute for Excellence, chair of the British Association of Social Workers and director of adult and community services at Wiltshire County Council.

The other board members include awards founder Beverley Williams, James Rook who is managing director of awards sponsors Sanctuary Social Care, and Ruth Smith, content director at Community Care.

Professor Jones said: “I’ve followed the Social Worker of the Year Awards since their inception – it’s a brilliant initiative and congratulations to Beverley for setting it up. There are a lot of unsung heroes in social work and recognising their commitment and achievements in such a complex and challenging sector is a great idea.”

Fellow trustee, James Rook, said: “We are delighted that Ray has decided to join us to celebrate the achievements of social workers across England. The Social Worker of the Year Awards continues to go from strength to strength and it’s fantastic that someone who is as influential in the sector as Ray wants to support us.”

The Social Worker of the Year Awards recognises the work, achievements and successes of social workers and social work teams in both children’s and adult services. Awards include Social Work Employer of the Year, Practice Teacher of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement Award for anyone who has spent over 20 years working in the profession.

The headline sponsor for the awards is Sanctuary Social Care. It sponsors Overall Social Worker of the Year and Best Social Work Employer of the Year. The College of Social Work sponsors Outstanding Contribution to Social Work and Principal Social Worker of the Year; BASW sponsors Lifetime Achievement Award and Creative & Innovative Practice Award, and Community Care is the media partner for the awards.

For more information, go to the awards website.

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.