Three days left to enter Social Worker of the Year Awards

The awards recognise the work of social workers, teams and organisations

2015 Social Worker of the Year Award winners. Photo: Matt Grayson

Social workers are being encouraged to put themselves forward for the 2016 Social Worker of the Year awards, the annual celebration of the social work profession.

The deadline for entries is Friday 22 July at 5pm.

The awards recognise the diverse work and achievements of social workers, teams and organisations across England. There are 17 awards across both children’s and adult services.

Last year’s winners included Calderdale council’s Rob Mitchell, who was awarded Principal Social Worker of the Year, and Anju Bhatti, an adult social worker at Wokingham council’s local authority trading company Optalis, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The late Bob Holman and his wife Annette also received the Outstanding Contribution to Social Work Award in recognition of their service to some of the UK’s poorest communities.

James Rook, managing director of Sanctuary Social Care, the awards’ headline sponsor, said: “We’ve already received some truly inspirational entries this year and it’s not too late to get your nominations in. Don’t miss the opportunity to shine a light on an outstanding colleague or social work team who you feel deserves recognition.”

The winners will be announced on Friday 25 November at an awards ceremony in London.

To enter download an entry form from the social work awards website.

Community Care is the official media sponsor of the awards.

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.