National Care Standards Commission board named

Health minister John Hutton has named the 13 board members of
the new National Care Standards Commission.

From next year the commission will take over the inspection and
regulation of services.

Board members are:

– Valerie Howarth, who is to retire as chief executive of
charity Childline in July.

– Michael Hake, director of social services for Solihull Council
and the nationals spokesperson on care regulation for the
Association of Directors of Social Services.

– Deryk Mead, chief executive of children’s charity NCH.

– Peter Westland, chairperson of charity Action on Elder

– Tom Burgner, author of the Burgner report, which led to the
NCSC and the Care Standards Act.

– Lucianne Sawyer, founder and current president of the UK Home
Care Association.

– Su Sayer, co-founder and chief executive of learning
difficulty and mental health charity United Response.

– Glynn Vernon, former vice-chairperson of physical disability
charity Scope.

– Shaukat Moledina, chairperson of Amocura (Holdings) Ltd, which
owns nursing and residential homes.

– Roslyn Emblin, who plans to retire this year from her post as
director of nursing, deputy chief executive and executive director
for Moorfields Eye Hospital.

– Bryan Heiser, a older people’s rights campaigner.

– Jim Mansell, chairperson of Applied Psychology of Learning
Disability at the University of Kent.

– Simon Kirk, founder and chairperson of the Energy Saving

More from Community Care

Comments are closed.